The Garage Museum of Contemporary Art

 

The Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation supports the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art as a patron of the following programmes:

Garage’s Educational and Public Programmes currently comprise the largest pedagogical initiative of a cultural institution in Russia. Daily activities are the gallery’s major priority and take place throughout the exhibition halls, the café, and in the Garage Educational Centre, which accommodates simultaneous programmes, ranging from classes and workshops for children and families, to concerts, lectures, international conferences, performances, and screenings.

Garage Training supports the development of knowledge and expertise in forthcoming generations of art lovers in Russia. The programme aims to provide young people with opportunities to learn new skills, gain hands-on work experience, and delve deeper into the thinking that occurs behind-the-scenes in a cultural institution. Training programmes focus on curating, museum administration, and gallery mediation.

Garage Field Research is a unique think tank and cross-disciplinary platform with an emphasis on primary research. Generated by the interests of artists, curators, and writers working around the world, the programme is the first to give new perspectives on overlooked or little-known events, philosophies, places, or people relating to Russian culture. Each body of accumulated research contributes to the development of a new artwork, film, exhibition, archive, database, lecture, or publication.

The Garage Archive Collection is central to the activities of the Museum. It is the hub through which the institution is developing and sharing knowledge of Russian art as well as a platform for international research projects, including conferences, exhibitions, seminars, and publications. The Collection consists of an extensive holding of documentary materials relating to contemporary art in Moscow, St. Petersburg, and other cities in Russia. As the first public resource of its kind in the country, the Collection records artists’ practices from the mid-1940s through to the present.

The Garage Library constitutes the largest specialised library in the country dedicated to the art of the 20th and 21st centuries. Located in the Garage Educational Center, its collection currently comprises around 15,000 items, including monographs by leading art scholars, catalogues of group exhibitions and museum collections, books on artists, journals on contemporary art and architecture, and publications on the theory of culture, as well as rare antiquarian Russian editions.

Photos: © Garage Museum of Contemporary Art

Photo

Музей современного искусства «Гараж»

 

Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» оказывает поддержку частному учреждению культуры Музею современного искусства «Гараж».

Фонд является патроном Образовательной программы, а также поддерживает исследовательскую деятельность, работу Архива и Библиотеки Музея.

Образовательная и публичная программы «Гаража» — самая масштабная на сегодняшний день педагогическая инициатива в сфере современного русского искусства и культуры. Ежедневная деятельность в рамках этого направления, являющегося одним из приоритетных для Музея, проходит в разных пространствах, включая выставочные залы, Образовательный центр, библиотеку и кафе, где проводятся различные мероприятия — от лекций и мастер-классов для детей и взрослых до концертов, конференций, перформансов и кинопоказов.

Обучение в «Гараже» — специальное направление в образовательной программе, нацеленное на развитие знаний у молодого поколения людей, интересующихся современным искусством. Предоставляя участникам возможность получить новые навыки и опыт практической работы, а также глубже понять контекст, определяющий функционирование культурных институций, обучающие программы «Гаража» сосредоточены на вопросах кураторства, музейного менеджмента и общения с аудиторией.

«Полевые исследования» — уникальная междисциплинарная платформа Музея «Гараж», основной задачей которой являются долгосрочные исследования. Отражающая интересы художников, кураторов и критиков из разных стран мира, программа исследует малоизученные явления, не представленные ранее философские течения и героев русской и мировой культуры. Итогом каждого проекта, осуществляемого в рамках этой программы, является новое произведение искусства, фильм, выставка, архив, база данных, публикация или лекция.

Архив «Гаража» играет ключевую роль в деятельности Музея. Это платформа для международных научно-исследовательских проектов: конференций, выставок, семинаров и публикаций, центр, аккумулирующий и распространяющий знания о современном российском искусстве. Коллекция включает обширные документальные материалы по истории современного искусства Москвы, Санкт-Петербурга и других городов России. Архив Музея — крупнейшее в мире собрание, посвященное изучению процессов, происходивших в российском искусстве с середины 1940-х годов до наших дней.

Библиотека «Гаража» — первая в России публичная библиотека, посвященная истории и теории мирового и российского современного искусства. Крупнейшая в России коллекция книг и журналов, посвященных современному искусству, насчитывает более 15 000 единиц хранения. Собрание включает монографии ведущих искусствоведов, каталоги групповых выставок и музейных коллекций, книги о художниках, журналы о современном искусстве и архитектуре, издания по теории культуры, фотографии, дизайну и философии. Особое внимание уделено периодике и редким букинистическим изданиям, посвященным советскому неофициальному искусству. Обширная библиотека Музея «Гараж» включает книги на русском, английском, немецком и других иностранных языках.

Фотографии: © Музей современного искусства «Гараж»

Фото